Reflections

(Originally published: 5/24/12)

First things first.

My trip to London has had nothing but a positive impact on my life as a whole. Not just the trip itself, but events leading up to the trip, have made me realize how fortunate and grateful I am to have been blessed with such an opportunity.

Before leaving for London, I was in a rut. I was working two minimum wage jobs, taking a full course load, and trying not to be antisocial. It wasn’t easy but it wasn’t impossible. Even with two minimum wage jobs I wasn’t able to muster up enough money to afford this trip. My little brother, Nick, and my mother helped me out immensely in terms of affording this trip and I can’t let them go unmentioned and make sure they know how much I appreciate their generous contributions.

Much love and thanks to my family for helping me afford this trip, believing in me and encouraging me to be the best man I possibly can.

Now onto how being in this great city has actually affected me both personally and professionally.

This trip has helped me with my professional career as a cycling enthusiast. I can’t wait to take all of the information and suggestions I got from Jenette Coduto who works for the City of London Corporation back to Pittsburgh, PA in hopes of improving its cycling accommodations. I hope to use all of the information that I have compiled for my project as scaffolding for a representation of my work ethic.

On a more personal level, there are two main events that I can recall that filled me with anxiety. It wasn’t a bad feeling that is usually associated with the word ‘anxiety’, rather it was a magnificent, thought provoking, inspirational feeling. It was a feeling that I was connecting with my distance ancestors and major influences of human history.

The feeling was similar to Bill and Ted’s when they came face-to-face with Socrates.

St. Paul’s Cathedral was absolutely breathtaking. It was unfathomably massive. Thinking about how each mural was hand-painted was something I couldn’t get my head around.

The British History Museum left me in awe as I was immediately surrounded by Egyptian hieroglyphics, Roman and Greek artifacts, statues and tombs. As I moved through the museum I felt a feeling that I have never felt before. It was a feeling that I was taking an actual trip through human history, witnessing all of the architectural, agricultural and technological advances man has made since recorded history.

Leave a Reply

